We live in a world that is so busy and crowded, we have no time to sit and bask in the awe and beauty of quietness. The society we live in tells us that if we are not doing something all the time or if we are not constantly busy, that we are considered lazy or unmotivated. Yet, that is not the case. The Bible calls us to be quiet and to allow Christ to speak to us in our moments of quietness.

Isaiah 32:17

“And the work of righteousness will be peace, and the service of righteousness, quietness and confidence forever.”

A righteous heart is a heart that finds rest and quietness. Peace in Christ allows us to hear him and to feel his love and his presence. We know that even Jesus himself needed time away from the crowds and disciples to listen to his Heavenly father and be filled by the Holy Spirit.

Sometimes I feel like I am so busy, so I pause and  open up my bible and read his word. 30 minutes later, I’m back in my busy world and nothing seemed to change. I think to myself, “I read my bible, why don’t I feel at peace?” But then it dawns on me, I read my bible and I talked to God, but I didn’t really take time to LISTEN to him. I didn’t hear what he was saying to me and I didn’t listen to him speak peace to me. If I just would have took the time to sit and listen to what Christ was saying to me, I’d hear him speak words of rest and quietness into my heart.

In those moments where you feel the world spinning around, take time to really listen to Christ and find quietness in him.

Love, Karsyn Bryant

Leave a Reply

